NECOS: 2-year EU-Brazil Collaborative Project starting in Nov/2017


NECOS (Novel Enablers for Cloud Slicing) is a new EU-BR collaborative project, coordinated on the Brazilian side by INTRIG/UNICAMP, to start in November 2017.

Altogether 11 institutions from Brazil and Europe will work on this research project aiming at addressing the limitations of current cloud computing infrastructures to respond to the demand of new services, as presented in two use-cases. The first use-case is Telco service provider focused and is oriented towards the adoption of cloud computing in their large networks. The second use-case is targeting the use of edge clouds to support devices with low computation and storage capacity.

The NECOS approach will be manifested in a platform whose main distinguishing features are:

  1. The Slice as a Service – a new deployment model. A slice is a grouping of resources managed as a whole and that can accommodate service components, independent of other slices.
  2. Embedded algorithms for an optimal allocation of resources to slices in the cloud and networking infrastructure, to respond to the dynamic changes of the various service demands.
  3. A management and orchestration approach making use of artificial intelligence techniques in order to tackle with the complexity of large-scale virtualized infrastructure environments.
  4. Making reality the lightweight principle, in terms of low footprint components deployable on large number of small network and cloud devices at the edges of the network.

More about the NECOS project can be found through the official project web page:

NECOS in the news:


  • UPC – Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain), EU Coordinator
  • UCL – University College London (UK),
  • UOM – University of Macedonia (Greece)
  • TID – Telefónica Investigación y Desarrollo (Spain)
  • UNICAMP – University of Campinas (Brazil), BR Coordinator
  • UFSCAR – Federal University of São Carlos (Brazil)
  • UFU – Federal University of Uberlândia (Brazil)
  • UFPA – Federal University of Pará (Brazil)
  • UFRN – Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte (Brazil)
  • UFG – Federal University of Goiás (Brazil)
  • CPqD – CPqD Telecom Research and Development Center (Brazil)

Leave a Reply

You may also like these